Posted by: positivethink49 | August 9, 2011

Atlanta Half Marathon Training Run #4

Today’s run was just a little 30 minute run.  Listen to me, a little 30 minute run!  How far I have come in a short time.  Running 30 minutes would have been practically impossible for me not long ago.

The run was a bit hard at first since I have a hill to climb almost immediately.  But I felt good for the whole way.  My legs were just a little sore but not bad at all.  I wasn’t very focused on the run though – something I need to work on more.  I will start using daily affirmations before the run and getting my head focused on it before I start.  I think this will help.

So Thursday is another 30 minute run and then Sunday I go for 4 miles.  I have only run 4 miles once in my life, after losing a lot of weight when I was 28 years old.  There is a parallel here since I have lost a lot of weight again.  But now I am 57 years old.  57 years old – and in the best physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual condition in my entire life.  Radical Change Is Possible – and Necessary!  This is my life and I am going to make it count!

Oh by the way, I became a member of the Atlanta Track Club so I am now officially a runner!  Do I think running is fun and enjoyable?  Not yet but I am getting there.  Do I think I can actually run a Half Marathon?  Absolutely.  I’ve come a long way, baby!


Leave a comment

Categories