Posted by: positivethink49 | August 7, 2011

Atlanta Half Marathon Training – 3

When I was a kid, I knew that HHH stood for Hubert Horatio Humphrey, a senator from Minnesota, who later was the Vice President and ran for President.  Living here in Atlanta, I now know that HHH stands for Hot, Hazy, and Humid.  Man, I am so looking forward to running in cool weather!

This morning’s run was the first distance run in the training program.  After a couple of 30 minute runs, today I set out for a 3 mile run.  I didn’t even take a watch with me.  I really am not interested in how fast I can run.  I just want to run 13.1 miles on Thanksgiving Day 2011.

My 30 minute runs have been limited to running in my neighborhood, which is extremely hilly.  It is 1.1 miles from my house to the neighborhood entrance so I cover that in about 30 minutes.  Today, I ventured out into the unknown – the sidewalks of Shallowford Road.  Sounds like a good title for a romance novel!  Maybe one of my daughters can use it!

So I figured out where the .4 mile mark was so I could run 1.5 out and 1.5 back.  After doing the run today, I got the feeling that my run was like a sandwich.  Lots of hills, followed by a nice, relatively flat straightaway, followed by more hills.  Today, it was 2.2 miles of bread and only .8 miles of roast beef.  But the runs will get more meatier as my distance increases.

I felt good running today.  My legs felt very good and I handled the 3 miles very well.  I did three things while I ran which seemed to help.  First, I moved my arms more.  The more I used my arms, the easier it was for me to maintain a rhythm and I felt stronger.  Second, I smiled.  I actually put a smile on my face and it changed everything.  I felt happier, stronger, more confident.  I wonder how that works.  Third, I prayed.  No, I didn’t ask God to let me finish this run or to put wings on my shoes to make it easier.  I prayed to God to give thanks.  I thanked God for my wonderful family, my dear wife Lauren, my daughter Aline and her husband Dustin and their family, my daughter Hilary, my son Michael, and my son Eric, for my father-in-law Harvey, who is known to everyone as Papa, my brother Peter, his wife Judy, and their family, and my brother-in-law Steve, his wife Sandy and their family.  I thanked God for the gifts that He has given them and to continue to watch over them and guide them to make good choices.  I thanked God for the friends in my life, both old and new, who have done so much for me.  But mostly, I thanked God for giving me the gift of gratitude.  My life is so much better today than it was many years ago and I am so grateful for that.  No longer am I obese, the high cholesterol is gone, many of the health risk factors are gone, and I am out here running!  Back when I was severely depressed, I tried to walk these same neighborhood hills and wondered, “What’s the point?”. I’d rather lay in bed and wonder what was wrong with me.  I’ve come a long way baby!  Thank God!  Next run on Tuesday – see you then!


Leave a comment

Categories