Posted by: positivethink49 | September 5, 2012

D.U.M.B Goals

As an avid reader of self-help books and articles, I have often run into the term S.M.A.R.T. goals.  The acronym stands for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely.  Not only have I seen this in the literature, I have even used the concept of S.M.A.R.T. goals in some of the classes and sessions I have led in my business career.  So it is only natural to assume that I use S.M.A.R.T. goals all the time in my personal life.

Yeah, right.

Yesterday, I posted a blog about insanity in which I defined insanity as expecting the same results I once achieved without doing the things that are necessary to achieve them.  I realized that the main reason for my insanity was that I was setting D.U.M.B goals.  Drastic, Unattainable, Moronic, and Brainless.

Sounds like a recipe for failure, frustration, and a lousy attitude.  It’s time to rethink my goals, be kind to myself, and give myself a chance to be successful again.

I think that is a S.M.A.R.T. idea, don’t you.


Leave a comment

Categories