Posted by: positivethink49 | September 5, 2012

A Modified Definition of Insanity

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different result.  This definition of insanity is attributed to Albert Einstein and I have certainly used it a few times in my day.  I have also been a role model for it.

I would like to propose a modified definition which has applied to me for almost a year now.  Here it is:

Insanity: Expecting the same results I once achieved without doing the things that are necessary to achieve them.

Case in point.  Last year, I finished the Atlanta Half Marathon on Thanksgiving Day.  It was the most amazing thing I had ever accomplished.  I never ever dreamed that I could do something like that.  When I first started walking, I wasn’t thinking about 13.1 miles.  First it was walking laps, then jogging 1 lap, then 2, then 3, and so on.  Then I took my act on the roads and began training for a 5K.  Then a 10K.  And then, the idea of 13.1 miles became realistic.  I found a wonderful training program and I stuck to it like glue.  And on Thanksgiving Day, I achieved my goal.

Then, I took some time away from running.  I fell back into my old ways and I gained weight.  Every now and then, I would lace up the shoes and go for a run but my head, and my heart were just not into it.  My legs would ache, my knee would hurt, and that drive I had to just keep going was gone.  Well, of course it was gone!  My muscles were out of shape.  My attitude was in the dumps.  And, I would just get frustrated and down on myself.

So tonight, I decided to lace up the running shoes again and go out for a walk.  Just like old times when I first started training.  Man, it felt so good!  I walked at a fast pace, attacking the hills, feeling strong.  I am going to walk every day and work my way back into running shape.  Pretty smart, don’t you think?  No more insanity.  Now why did it take so long?


Leave a comment

Categories