Posted by: positivethink49 | March 3, 2012

The Importance of a Name

When I was in religious school, it was common for a child’s Hebrew name to be similar to his or her English name.  So Steven was usually named Shmuel or Shlomo.  Robin was usually Rachel.  Linda was often named Leah.  You get the picture.  I had to be different.

My name is Robert so teachers and other students usually guessed that my Hebrew name was Reuven.  Afraid not.  I spent some time and effort every year telling people that my Hebrew name was Sinai,. yes, I said Sinai, yes, like the mountain.  At least nobody else ever had the same name as I did.  Most of my teachers would comment on what an unusual name it was.  I would explain to them that I was named after my godfather’s father.  Since my godfather had no sons, he did not have a way to pass on his father’s name to subsequent generations.  So, in memory of my godfather’s father, I was given his name, Sinai.  I suppose it would have made some sense to give me an English name like Steven or Sam, I was given the name of Robert.  My older brother liked the name Robert so, what the heck?

It is often said that people must grow into their names.  As I think about that, I believe that I am growing into it now, but for the second time.  If you think of Sinai as a mountain that is impossible to climb or as a barrier in your path, then the name fit me perfectly for most of my life.  Many things seemed impossible for me.  Barriers were often in my path.  Most of them were put there by yours truly.  The mountain obstructed my view of the path so I couldn’t even figure out which way I was going.  Depression caused me to stop practically dead in my tracks  I had most certainly grown into my name – a solid mass of rock that was impossible to climb.

In the last few years, I have begun to see the mountain as something different.  No more is it a barrier to me.  Rather it is a challenge.  It is an uphill climb that requires strength, faith, and self-confidence.  The rewards are many once I reach the summit.  I am climbing each and every day as I grow as a person and develop a strong sense of who I am.  I hope you can join me in my ascent.  If feels wonderful to be climbing.

So my unusual Hebrew name has great meaning and importance to me.  Thanks Dad.


Responses

  1. […] On March 3, I wrote an article called The Importance of a Name (https://positivethink49.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/the-importance-of-a-name/). […]


Leave a comment

Categories