Posted by: positivethink49 | February 7, 2012

Ayeka – Where are you?

In a few weeks, I am going to be taking classes taught by my good friend and wonderful educator Nancy Gorod.  The classes are called Getting Unstuck in Your Daily Life.  They are part of a program focusing on Jewish Education for the Soul and are offered by Ayeka.

Ayeka is the Hebrew word meaning “Where are You?”.  HaShem asks this question in Genesis 3:9, just after Adam and Eve had eaten the forbidden fruit and had hidden among the trees.  The question was not meant to find out Adam’s physical location.  HaShem knew, of course, where Adam was hiding.  The question “Ayeka” was meant to ask Adam where he was on his spiritual path.

I feel like I am being asked that question as well.  As I continue on my journey towards improving my health and my life, I am keenly aware of my feelings, my thoughts, my beliefs, and my faith.  I feel as if HaShem is asking me “Ayeka”.  Where are you, Sinai (my Hebrew name) on your journey to spirituality?  How are you handling the ebbs and flows, the highs and lows?  How strong is your faith?

But I also feel like HaShem is asking me another question.  “Where have you been, Sinai?  You have an important message to share with the world.  Your story of recovery can offer hope to those who suffer from the hopelessness of depression.  Go forth and tell your story.  It’s time.”

So my response to HaShem is “Hineni” (Here I am).  And yes, it is time.  May HaShem give me strength and guidance.  Amen.


Responses

  1. Robert, thank you for that shout out. I am looking forward to this experience together. You seem like you are indeed ready to get “unstuck” in your daily life. I will see you in two weeks!


Leave a comment

Categories