Posted by: positivethink49 | September 6, 2011

A Run with my Son

My son Michael and I will be running in a Kaiser Permanente 5K on Thursday at Turner Field in Atlanta.  This afternoon, I ran with him for the first time.  I have been training for the Atlanta Half Marathon and today I was scheduled to do my usual 2.2 hilly miles.  Since Michael hasn’t run in quite a while, I suggested that he come out with me today and give it a go.

Having a running partner was a bit strange since I have always run alone.  I tried to keep my usual pace but, at the half way point, I knew I had gone faster than usual.  I decided to pick it up a bit and see what I had left in the tank.  I finished in 25.17 which is over a minute faster than my previous best time.

It was fun running with my son!  Now there’s a statement I never thought I would ever say.  It’s probably a surprise to Michael too!  Who knows – maybe running will become a family activity – started by the old man!

Half Marathon on Thanksgiving Day!!! I will be ready!  And I will do great!


Responses

  1. Very fun, indeed! Amazing to see how far you have come! You can do it, Dad!


Leave a comment

Categories