Posted by: positivethink49 | August 19, 2011

Atlanta Half Marathon Training – August 18

Today I set out for a 30 minute run on my usual, hilly, 2.2 mile course.  I had done the run in 30:50 on Tuesday and was thinking that I should shoot for 30 flat.  It felt a bit warmer and muggy than it had on Tuesday but it wasn’t too bad.  I made the halfway turn in about the usual time – around 15 minutes.  I decided to push it a bit on the way back and, to my surprise, I finished in 28:24!  A new personal best and I crushed the 30 minute mark.

Running is still not fun but it sure feels good to accomplish what I am doing.  Sunday’s 5 mile run should be interesting.  I will be in Nashville – unfamiliar territory and I have never done 5 miles before, with the exception of the Peachtree.  I will have to map out a course, get out early, and go for it.  Wish me luck!


Leave a comment

Categories